The communication configuration allows you to define:
-
Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) settings: When using SNMP v1/v2 or v3, you can configure a time interval (in milliseconds) between each SNMP query sent to the printer.
By default, the SNMP v1/v2 public configuration is set when the service is created, but it can be changed as needed for the operation.
To ensure efficient discovery of new devices, keep the list of SNMP entries up to date.
The SNMP v1/v2 or v3 connection communicates using the IPv4 and IPv6 Internet protocols.
Information
The SNMP v3 protocol, due to its security and encryption standards, requires more memory and processing, which can result in longer response times for the devices that use it. For this reason, when searching for printers by broadcast, only SNMP v1/v2 entries will be used.
Who can use this feature
Users with the Admin or Installation management permissions
Instructions
-
Go to the Installations > Services menu
-
Click on the desired service to open its properties
-
Click on the Settings and Communication tab
-
In Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) settings, click the + Add button
-
In the SNMP entry name field, enter a name to identify the configuration
-
In the Answer time (ms) field, enter the response time, in milliseconds, used when communicating with the printer
-
In the Number of attempts field, enter the number of attempts to be made when communicating with the printer
-
In the Reading community field, enter the read community configured on the printer
-
In the Protocol version field, select Version 1/2 or Version 3, depending on the printer's configuration
-
If Version 3 is selected, fill in the remaining fields:
-
In the User field, enter the user configured on the printer
-
In the Context field, enter the context configured on the printer, if any
-
In the Cryptography field, select the encryption option configured on the printer
-
In the Encryption password field, enter the password associated with the encryption configured on the printer, if applicable
-
In the Authentication algorithm field, select the algorithm configured on the printer
-
In the Authentication password field, enter the authentication password configured on the printer, if applicable
-
-
-
Click the Add button to add the protocol and remain on the add screen or the Add and Close button to add the protocol and return to the register
-
Click the Save button
When an SNMP protocol is edited, only network printers that communicate with the new configuration will be searched.
When you delete a protocol, the portal will no longer monitor the printers that used the deleted communication configuration.